

39th International Conference of Data Protection and Privacy Commissioners

Closed session

26 September 2017, Hong Kong

Accreditation resolution

On the recommendation of the Executive Committee, following an assessment of each authority's application against the membership criteria, the 39th Conference accredits the following authorities as new members:

- 1. Belgium: Supervisory Body for Police information Management
- 2. Japan: Personal Information Protection Commission
- 3. Montenegro: Agency for Personal Data Protection and Free Access to Information
- 4. South Africa: Information Regulator
- 5. **Turkey**: Personal Data Protection Authority

Explanatory note

The accreditation process commences when an applicant completes an <u>online application form</u> which seeks all relevant details to establish eligibility. Use of the online form automatically submits an application by email to the ICDPPC Secretariat and generates a confirmation message for the applicant. The ICDPPC Secretariat forwards each application to the Committee member who has been assigned the responsibility to undertake the initial assessment. The Committee extends its thanks Morocco for taking on the task this year. The Committee has implemented a process this year for processing applications 'on the papers' where members agree with a positive initial assessment and bring items to the meetings for oral discussion only in exceptional cases.

This year the Committee dealt with one application that has been carried over from the previous year and four new applications. A further application was received a month after the deadline which did not allow sufficient time to be properly considered. Accordingly, the Committee recommended the applicant (KCC, Korea) for observer status for the 39th Conference and will pass the application to the next Committee to assess.

The <u>applications</u> have been posted to the ICDPPC website for information and more information about each of the proposed new members is available at their individual websites, see: <u>Belgium</u>, <u>Japan</u>, <u>Montenegro</u>, <u>South Africa</u> and <u>Turkey</u>.