There follows a list of current observers accredited under article 5.3 of the Assembly’s rules and procedures.

  • Rule 5.3(a) Public entity other than an international organisation
  • Rule 5.3(b) international organisation
  • Rule 5.3(c) Reciprocal recognition


Public entity other than an international organisation Duration of observer status
National Data Protection Authority (Autoridade Nacional de Proteção de Dados), Brazil (2021) To April 2023
Canadian International Industrial Security Directorate (2013) To April 2021
Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, India (2018) To April 2023
Macao Office for Personal Data Protection (2011) To April 2021
Department of Personal Data Protection Malaysia (2018) To April 2021
Chief Privacy and Civil Liberties Officer, Department of Justice, United States (2018) To April 2024
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, United States (2021) To April 2023
Ministry of Transport and Communication, Qatar (2021) To April 2023
Data Protection Office, Qatar Financial Centre (2021) To April 2023
Saudi Data and Artificial Intelligence Authority, Saudi Arabia (2021) To April 2023
Department of Homeland Security Privacy Office, United States (2015) To April 2022
National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), United States (2019) To April 2023
Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board, United States (2021) To April 2023
Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board, United States (2021) To April 2023
International organisation Duration of observer status
African Network of Data Protection Authorities  (Réseau Africain des Autorités de Protection des Données Personnelles (2018) To April 2023
Association Francophone Des Autorités De Protection Des Données Personnelles (French-Speaking Association of Personal Data Protection Authorities) (2012) To April 2023
Common Thread Network (CTN) (2019) To April 2023
Council of Europe (2015) To April 2021
European Commission (2013) To April 2022
European Consumer Organisation (BEUC) (2020) To April 2022
European Data Protection Board (EDPB) (2019) To April 2023
European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (2015) To April 2022
Inter-American Institute of Human Rights (IIHR) (2021) To April 2023
International Committee of the Red Cross (2016) To April 2023
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (2019) To April 2023
International Organization for Migration (IOM) (2018) To April 2022
Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development (2015) To April 2022
UN Executive Office of the Secretary-General (2015) To April 2022
UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) (2019) To April 2022
Reciprocal recognition Duration of observer status
Asia Pacific Privacy Authorities (APPA) (2021) To April 2023


Former observers
The arrangements for admitting and accrediting observers changed in 2011 and again in 2015. Complete and reliable records do not exist for observers prior to 2015. The following organisations are not currently observers.

39th International Conference
Abu Dhabi Global Market Registration Authority (2017), Malaysia Department of Personal Data Protection (2017), Republic of Korea Korea Communications Commission (2017), Singapore Personal Data Protection Commission (2017), U.S. Department of Justice Chief Privacy and Civil Liberties Officer (2017), International Organisation for Migration (2017), UNESCO (2017), United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (2017).

38th International Conference
Belgium Supervisory Authority for Police Information Management (2016), Japan Personal Information Protection Commission (2016), Kenya Commission on Administrative Justice (2016), Montenegro Agency for Personal Data Protection and Free Access to Information (2016), Nigeria Cybercrime Advisory Council (2016), Nigeria National Identity Management Commission (2016), USA Department of Justice (2016), USA Office of the Privacy and Data Protection, Washington State (2016), International Organisation for Migration (2016).

37th International Conference
Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Communications (2015 – 2016).

36th International Conference
Japan Specific Personal Information Protection Commission (2014–2016), Singapore Infocomm Development Authority (2014 – 2016).

35th International Conference
Ecuador Superintendencia de Telecomunicaciones (SUPERTEL) (2013 – 2016), Singapore Personal Data Protection Commission (2013 – 2016), South Korea National Information Security Agency (2013 – 2016).

34th International Conference
Ecuador Dirección Nacional de Registro de Datos Públicos (DINARDAP) (2012 – 2016), Organization of American States (2012 – 2016).

33rd International Conference
Japan Consumer Affairs Agency (2011–2016).